Saint Kitts and Nevis is a state located in the eastern part of the Caribbean Sea, belonging to the Lesser Antilles and consisting of two islands—Saint Kitts and Nevis.

Capital: Basseterre

Political System: Independent state within the Commonwealth

Form of Government: Constitutional monarchy

Area: 261 km²

Population: 49,898 people


Saint Kitts and Nevis is the smallest state in the Western Hemisphere in terms of both area and population.

Columbus named the island of Saint Kitts after Saint Christopher, the patron saint of travelers. Over the years, sailors shortened the saint’s name for convenience to “Kitts.” The island of Nevis got its name from the white clouds covering its mountain peaks, as its name translates literally to “our snowy lady.”

By the way, Ukraine has a visa-free regime with Saint Kitts and Nevis, and there are affordable flights from Europe. If you catch a good deal, you can visit this distant piece of land at a reasonable price.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *